Skip to content
Garage Interrupt
All notices

Crashes involving comma.ai driving automation products

Investigation, from NHTSA Investigations

Published by NHTSA
Sep 21, 2026
Manufacturer
comma.ai
NHTSA ID
PE26007
NHTSA category
PE
Applies to, as stated by NHTSA
COMMA.AI COMMA 3X (model year not stated); COMMA.AI COMMA FOUR (model year not stated); COMMA.AI COMMA THREE (model year not stated)

Text of the investigation

The Office of Defects Investigation ("ODI") has identified crashes involving vehicles equipped with devices manufactured by comma.ai (“comma”) occurring under similar circumstances. ODI received notice of five (5) crashes in which vehicles with comma devices installed reportedly struck stopped or slowly moving vehicles within the same travel lane. ODI has confirmed that the systems were powered on or engaged in multiple crashes. Preliminary data reviewed by ODI suggests that the comma system may not have adequately detected or responded to the in-lane vehicles. Two crashes resulted in a total of three (3) fatalities. Four of the five crashes contributed to various non-fatal injuries, including serious injuries, to eleven (11) other individuals. The comma devices are after-market accessory systems intended to augment a vehicle’s driving automation capabilities. The devices are sold with wire harnesses that connect to existing vehicle systems and use the device’s cameras alongside stock vehicle sensors as a basis to provide sustained automated control of speed and vehicle heading with options for other enhanced features enabled by software loaded onto the devices. The devices are sold directly to consumers, and the company’s provided setup instructions are intended for consumer installation. The company advertises on its website that, with its “step-by-step guide,” a consumer can “[g]et set up in your car in 15 minutes.” According to the website, the devices provide “hands free driving for the car you already have,” and the software (openpilot) that comma develops to operate on the devices is described as “an open source advanced driver assistance system that works on 325+ car models” and “[c]an drive for hours without intervention.” The company’s website states that “openpilot requires the driver to be alert, pay attention, and be ready to take over at all times.” ODI is opening this Preliminary Evaluation to investigate further any incidents involving the comma devices and openpilot, particularly crashes involving slower or stopped vehicles or hazards in lane. The investigation will obtain data to verify system status for each incident and evaluate system performance and safeguards that are intended to ensure safe operation of vehicles equipped with comma devices. Additionally, to the extent that modified software based on openpilot (i.e., a “fork”) is involved in a crash or other incident, ODI will evaluate the incident and consider the shared components between openpilot and the fork. The SGO incidents cited in the Opening Resume are listed below by report ID and are available for download at NHTSA.gov/laws-regulations/standing-general-order-crash-reporting 30351-15888 30351-14668 30351-11961 30351-1807 62-14853
View original source on NHTSA.gov

NHTSA reuses some ID numbers across record types. If its page lists more than one record, this one is the investigation dated Sep 21, 2026.

For the 2020 Subaru Outback

Premium

Ignored

Relevance of 10% is under one half, so the notice is ignored whatever the other figures say.

Vehicle relevance
10%
Attention
34%
Interrupt probability
34%
Importance to this owner
0.6 of 4, minor
Vehicle area the notice is about
Safety

This investigation does not appear to warrant attention for this vehicle.

Decided by jev-1.13.0 in 142 ms from 2,067 input tokens. Jev returns these figures and nothing else. It gives no reasons, and none are written for it here. The figures describe how relevant the notice is, not the condition of any vehicle.

Checked by code against NHTSA's fields

A plain comparison with the structured fields NHTSA filled in. Separate from Jev's decision.

  • NoNHTSA names this make
  • NoNHTSA names this model
  • n/aNHTSA lists model year 2020 for this model

The same notice, every vehicle

VehicleRelevanceState
10%Ignored
9%Ignored
8%Ignored
8%Ignored
7%Ignored
7%Ignored
7%Ignored
7%Ignored
7%Ignored
6%Ignored
6%Ignored
5%Ignored
5%Ignored
5%Ignored
4%Ignored
4%Ignored

Select a vehicle to see its attention and interrupt figures above.